Pancha Raksha

On Exhibition

Medium: Mix Media
Size: 29.5 x 21 cm
Year: 2019

About the Art

The 'Five Protectors' are a group of five female deities that are the personifications of five early Buddhist texts (sutra). These five deities each have specific functions and are directed towards accomplishing worldly welfare and happiness, preventing and surviving natural disasters, curing snakebite, overcoming fear and averting pestilence and epidemics.

The Five Pancha Raksha:
- Maha Pratisara
- Maha Sahasrapramardini
- Mahamayuri
- Sitavati
- Mantramanudharani

© Copyright 2022 Museum of Nepal Arts. All Rights Reserved.